More than $106 million in quarterly aid payments disbursed for local roads, communities

For the Tomahawk Leader

WISCONSIN – Governor Tony Evers and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) last week announced that municipalities across the state received more than $106 million in the second quarterly payments for 2024 for General Transportation, Connecting Highway and Expressway Policing Aids.

According to a release from Evers’ office, for calendar year 2024, local governments will receive more than $536 million in General Transportation Aids financial assistance to support transportation-related projects, a 2% increase over calendar year 2023 allocations provided by the 2023-25 biennial budget signed by Evers.

“The investments in the 2023-25 state budget resulted in the largest amount of funding for the program in the state’s history, and total funding for all local programs makes up almost one-third of the state transportation budget,” the release said.

The second quarter payments, made on Monday, April 1, totaled $106,258,969.19 and included:

  • General Transportation Aids – $101,744,169.70 to local units of government.
  • Connecting Highway Aids – $4,258,824.49 to 116 eligible municipalities.
  • Expressway Policing Aids – $255,975.00 to Milwaukee County.

General Transportation Aids (GTA) help cover the costs of constructing, maintaining, and operating roads and streets under local jurisdiction.

Connecting Highway Aids (CHA) reimburse municipalities for maintenance and traffic control of certain state highways within municipalities.

Expressway Policing Aids help the Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Department with the costs of patrolling expressways within the county.

Quarterly payments for cities, villages, and towns are sent on the first Monday in January, April, July, and October. County payments are made in three installments, with 25% of the total annual payment on the first Monday in January; 50% on the first Monday in July; and 25% on the first Monday in October.

The release said Evers has “made fixing Wisconsin’s roads a top priority, and the Evers Administration has improved 7,424 miles of road and 1,780 bridges since 2019, including over 900 miles of road and over 200 bridges last year alone.”

“Wisconsinites need and deserve safer, more reliable roads statewide, and my administration has been working hard to fix the darn roads and improve infrastructure in every corner of our state,” Evers stated. “Through these investments, we are ensuring that local governments can pay for much-needed road construction, maintenance and traffic operations and that Wisconsin’s students, families, workers and products can get from point A to point B safely and efficiently.”

“Efficient and resilient transportation infrastructure starts in our counties, cities, villages and towns,” said WisDOT Secretary Craig Thompson. “Thank you to all the municipal leaders in Wisconsin for their cooperative work to improve our roads and bridges.”

A complete list of the first quarter aid payments is available at

Local aid data

Municipality                      GTA                       CHA                      

City of Tomahawk            $75,663.76           $10,372.59

City of Merrill                     $220,056.48        $37,524.02          

City of Rhinelander         $195,157.79

Town of Birch                    $18,618.94                                                          

Town of Bradley               $53,893.97

Town of Cassian               $61,836.24

Town of Corning               $53,893.97

Town of Harding               $23,122.80

Town of Harrison             $39,848.05

Town of Hazelhurst         $34,386.88

Town of Hill                        $21,557.59

Town of King                      $23,642.26

Town of Knox                    $25,517.48

Town of Little Rice           $31,502.51

Town of Lynne                  $55,199.46

Town of Merrill                 $45,616.79

Town of Nokomis            $36,287.01

Town of Ogema                $40,032.59

Town of Pine River          $44,304.47

Town of Rock Falls           $25,617.58

Town of Russell                 $28,085.01

Town of Schley                 $36,751.79

Town of Scott                    $25,874.56

Town of Skanawan          $16,246.79

Town of Somo                   $14,264.64

Town of Spirit                    $20,805.74

Town of Tomahawk        $24,216.40

Town of Wilson                 $17,115.81

Data courtesy of WisDOT.

Scroll to Top