Tomahawk hockey team receives WIAA Sportsmanship Award

For the Tomahawk Leader

TOMAHAWK – The Tomahawk High School boys’ hockey team is among the recipients of a prestigious award presented by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA).

This week, the WIAA and Rural Mutual Insurance announced the teams recognized with Sportsmanship Awards for the 2024 winter State Tournaments, and the Hatchet skaters are among this year’s awardees.

Joining the Tomahawk pucksters in earning the honor are Lakeside Lutheran in boys’ basketball, Cuba City in girls’ basketball, Cumberland in team wrestling, West Bend West in gymnastics and the Sun Prairie West Co-op in girls’ hockey.

A Monday, April 1 release from the WIAA said the Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments that exhibits exemplary sportsmanship.

“The award recipients are determined by the sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators,” WIAA stated. “Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to ensure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are showcased.”

WIAA said the selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants.

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor, and schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition.

“It’s the first time the Sportsmanship Award has been presented in boys’ hockey since 2021, and it’s the first time Tomahawk has earned the recognition in any sport,” WIAA said. “As the fourth seed, the Hatchets modeled sportsmanship both on and off the ice at the State Tournament before, during and following their 8-4 loss to top-seeded New Richmond in the Division 2 semifinals.”

To learn more about the 2024 Sportsmanship Award winners, visit

Scroll to Top