Tomahawk’s youth hockey teams take part in State tournaments; Bantams win championship

For the Tomahawk Leader

TOMAHAWK – Tomahawk’s youth hockey teams recently took part in State tournaments held in Reedsburg, Ashland and Waupaca.

The Tomahawk Youth Hockey Bantam Team (14U) competed in the Wisconsin Amateur Hockey Association (WAHA) State Tournament, held in Reedsburg, Wis. on Saturday, March 4 and Sunday, March 5. Tomahawk defeated Waupaca by a score of 11-1 and Waupun 8-2 before taking down Somerset 6-3 to earn the State Championship. Several players won awards, including Jett Reilly and Mason Jaecks each with a hat trick and playmaker; Brayden Lamer and Cole Peterson each earned hat trick patches; and Oliver Childers took home a playmaker award.

Team members are goalie Hudson Seymour, Jett Reilly, Brayden Lamer, Max Larson, Cole Peterson, Braxton Stromberg, Cami Flo Flohr, Rocco Carew, Colin Black, Mason Jaecks, Oliver Childers and Jake Albert. Coaches are Dewey Reilly, Jason Stromberg, Jay Peterson and Jake Flohr.

The Tomahawk Youth Hockey Bantam Team (14U).

The Tomahawk Pee Wee A Team (12U) took second place in the State tournament, held in Ashland on Saturday, March 11 and Sunday, March 12. The Tomahawk skaters earned an 8-2 win over Beaver Dam and a 6-3 victory over Somerset before falling to Sauk Prairie in the championship game by a score of 6-3. Breck Stromberg and Abe Flohr earned hat tricks, while a playmaker award went to Jake Albert.

The team is made up of goalie Amirah Dickens, Jack Reilly, Jake Albert, Abe Flohr, Jordy Carew, Breck Stromberg, Teddy Fredrikson, Carson Lamer, Hallie Pierce, Karson Hanse, Jada Devillers and Ben Cerny. Coaches are Jason Stromberg, Jake Flohr and Justin Cerny.

Tomahawk Pee Wee A Team (12U).

The Tomahawk Pee Wee B Team took 8th place in the WAHA 3B State Tournament, held in Waupaca on Saturday, March 11 and Sunday, March 12. The Tomahawk pucksters fell to Waupaca by a score of 8-0, Sauk Prairie 9-2 and Oshkosh 8-3.

The team is comprised of goaile Vallyn Ott, Finley Carew, Hunter Brighum, Maxwell Childers, Blake Diermeier, Jackson Brown, Hunter Stelzer, Kaeden Bethel, Daniel Dwyer, Landyn Schultz and Josh Marten. Coaches are Levi Ott, Mark Fletcher and Nate Schoone.

Tomahawk Pee Wee B Team. Photos courtesy of Amy Peterson.
Scroll to Top